top of page

GUEST REVIEWS & COMMENTS

In 2023, we installed a chalkboard in the Lounge and it took off with our guests—a glimpse of the love notes left.  We will start with a clean slate in 2024. Add your name to the list of those who loved their stay at Red Dog Inn!

 

OTHER 2023 ACCOLADES:

 

 

 

 

FROM THE RED DOG GUEST BOOK:

 

Thanks for a very hospitable and comfortable stay. (Merlin & Susanne from BC, October 2023)

Thank you for making our stay so lovely. Your inn is beautiful! (Jim & Eliza from OH, October 2023)

 

Thank you! Enjoyed our stay! (Toni & Kenny from TX, September 2023)

 

Thanks for sharing your home! (Mark & Diane from KY, September 2023)

 

We had a lovely stay for our 7 year anniversary & babyman! Thank you for the hospitality! (Megan & Andrew from ID, September 2023)

 

Thanks for the comfortable stay! (Han & Sun from WA, August 2023)

 

Thank you Red Dog Inn. We had a wonderful time! Everything in your home is made with great love and attention to detail. We appreciated that very much! (Adelina & Joe from NY, August 2023)

 

Thank you so much for having us in your beautiful home! We enjoyed our stay. (Elvira & Frank from MO, August 2023)

 

Thank you very much for your hospitality! We had a wonderful stay. (Sumana & Sandeepan from PA, August 2023)

 

Thank you for a lovely stay in the Forest! The View room is just awesome! (Brianna & Dan, nomads from DC, August 2023)

 

Thank you for an amazing stay! Wish we had more time. We’ll definitely be back. Amazing views and so many thoughtful touches to show you care. (Zach & Valentina from FL, August 2023)

 

Thank you for being such gracious and welcoming hosts. Your inn is so beautiful. We had the most wonderful stay! The open windows at night, lovely view of the mountain, food & coffee all made our stay perfect. Now that we’re relaxed, we can go enjoy our day in the park. Thanks again and we hope to be back sometime. (Monali & Nagasai from GA, August 2023)

Thank you for such a wonderful stay at the Red Dog Inn! We are visiting Seattle from Pittsburgh to celebrate my birthday and I am so happy we decided to make a short detour out here. It was so lovely starting our day with breakfast, a hot cup of coffee, and such beautiful sights. We spent our night yesterday watching the sunset. The View room is truly a gem and our favorite part of our stay. (Alina & Sam from PA, August, 2023)

 

Thank you! We had a wonderful time here. This is such a wonderful place to get away and relax. All the best! (Alana & David from GA, August 2023)

 

Thank you for such a lovely stay here at Red Dog Inn! We loved getting to come back to such a beautiful place at the end of each day exploring in the Olympics. It was such a treat getting to watch deer and epic sunsets from our window and listen to your incredible piano. And so glad we were able to chat and learn more about the inn’s origin story! (Sharvari & Logan from GA, August 2023)

 

Such a lovely place in the woods. Warm and welcoming. Thank you for the getaway! (Dominique from OR, July 2023)

 

Loved Red Dog Inn! The property is beautiful and comfortable. We plan to make our PNW lodging for a log as you run the Inn. Many thanks. (Alex, Dilly & Dakota from FL, July 2023)

 

We enjoyed our stay in your little slice of heaven in the PNW! You went above and beyond at our time here. We hop to get ourselves back here soon! (Gerron & Kim from OK, July 2023)

 

Thank you for hosting us in your lovely home! We had a really relaxing stay in the woods. (Taina & Antti, TX via Finland)

 

Thank you for your warm hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay at the Red Dog Inn! Your recommendations to try Nourish and Gastropub were spot-on! The food were amazing. Thank you for opening your doors to other travelers and adventurers. You guys have really created something special here. Hope to see you soon in the future! P.S. I’ve never felt so at home at any inn. Thank you for creating such a lovely, comfortable environment. (Lin & Karen from OR, July 2023)

 

Thank you so much for hosting us on our 20th Anniversary stay! We have learned a lot about this area and enjoyed our quite time here. Lover the views! This is a fantastic place to stay! Your model of a BnB is fabulous! Hope we can come back again. We will miss your hospitality. (Mike & Jackie from AZ, July 2023)

 

I really loved staying here with my mama. It is amazing!!! (Aalyah from WA, July 2023) The Red Dog Inn had everything we needed to make our stay comfy and peaceful! Everything is so well though out and Mary Kaye was a great host. (Teizeen from WA, July 2023)

 

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! What a privilege to feel so welcomed – and cozy! You’ve thought of everything and we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect oasis here on the Olympic Peninsula. (Faith & Will from NY, June 2023)

 

Thank you for everything. It has been a wonderful stay – the best. (the P. Family from BC, June 2023)

 

What a beautiful, thoughtful, restful place. Many thanks. (Lizzie & Sarah from WA & DC, June 2023)

 

Thank you for your warm hospitality! We very much enjoyed being in this oasis. (Chris & Travis from FL, June 2023)

 

Thanks for hosting us for the last two days. We enjoyed our stay here at Red Dog with such a unique countryside experience. Personally, we have never seen such a well-organized bnb ever. We will recommend this place to our entire network. (Omkar & Pranali, May 2023)

 

We have loved our stay at the Red Dog Inn! Thank you so much! You have paid so much attention to detail in your home and were such lovely hosts. And it’s hard to beat this view of ONP! We look forward to returning! (Annie & Abraham from WA, May 2023)

 

The Suite is EPIC... It's a generous amount of space yet still feels cozy (which was important for us in rainy chilly mid Oct). The bathroom is a standout--amazing shower and soaking tub. The views out every window are to die for, as well. Mary Kaye is a very thoughtful host and provides a lot of thorough instructions on how the Inn works and what precautions to take re: Covid-19. Could not recommend more highly. (Hannah & Vik, from NY, October 2020)

We had a wonderful time. (Corry, from UT, October 2020)

Thanks so much for a great stay, Mary Kaye. The Red Dog Inn is a special place and we hope to return! Take care! (Hannah T., from NY, October 2020)

 

Mary Kaye has a very nice, private place, and we really enjoyed our stay. She does a great job providing clear instructions to navigate Covid concerns, and she is an extremely responsive communicator and helpful host. We are happy to recommend the Red Dog Inn! (Thame & Suzi F, from WA, September 2020)

The room was very clean and comfortable. The view from the room was amazing as well. We loved the soaking tub especially after a day of long hikes. We would definitely stay again. (Cassandra B. & David, from WA, August 2020)

The Suite at Red Dog Inn is such a hidden gem! Our highlights were waking up to the beautiful mountain view and soaking in the tub after long days of exploring Olympic Natl. Park and hiking. We wanted to ensure that the place we chose had strict guidelines with COVID, and Mary Kaye's instructions and level of detail really nailed it. We wore masks in the allowed public spaces, hand sanitized before entering, but The Suite was perfect since we had our own wet bar, utensils, kitchen equipment, mini-fridge, coffee maker, toaster, and dining table so we mostly stayed in our room. The space was huge, much larger than most hotels we go to, and everything was very neat and clean. Location was also fantastic, 20 min drive from the main area of Port Angeles and 10-15 min drive to Salt Creek Recreation Area which I loved to go early in the morning to check out the tide pools and quiet Crescent Beach. Really beautiful stay for a relaxing long weekend, and we can't wait to be back! (Alexa T & Dylan, from WA, August 2020)

Thank you for creating such a wonderful experience for Dylan and me. We loved Red Dog Inn, waking up to beautiful views, and were extremely happy with all the attention to detail to keep everyone safe!! (Alexa T & Dylan, from WA, August 2020)

Great place to stay! (Zack H., from MA August 2020)

Mary Kaye + Don were incredible hosts. One of the best Airbnb’s I’ve booked. Can’t thank them enough for making the space so clean, warm and inviting. Mary Kaye took great precaution to make the space safe and comfortable even in the midst of a pandemic. The view from the room was incredible and there was always more than enough breakfast food to have us ready for our hikes throughout the week. The location was perfect for exploring most of Olympic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Whimsy and we look forward to coming back! (Lehna A. & Eric, from VA, August 2020)

 

Amazing host, hospitality was great. Follows state regulations and cleanliness in the building was amazing. She does the best to accommodate for the guest. Location was amazing and so peaceful waking up and looking out to the mountains. Definitely would recommend for a place to stay if you like being out of the city. (Wilfred D. & Jackie, from WA, August 2020)

 

Mary Kaye Rocks it! Peaceful, clean, perfection! This little gem is definitely off the beaten path but the tranquility, spectacular views and care for visitors by host Mary Kaye is well worth it. Location is still convenient to Port Angeles, Crescent Lake and Salt Creek Rec area. Mary Kaye is great host who has attention to detail down to a science. You won’t be disappointed if you choose to stay at Red Dog Inn. (Deanna S. & Mark, from IN, August 2020)

 

My husband and I stayed in the Suite. We enjoyed the quiet & secluded location, the deep bathtub, and the extra effort to keep everyone safe in this time of COVID. Mary Kaye really thought of everything! (Beth S. & Joe, from WA, August 2020)

 

Thanks so much for all of your thoughtful touches. I especially appreciated everything you did to ensure no-contact because of COVID. My husband and I enjoyed staying at your home. It was a great place to return to for quiet and comfort after a long day of hiking at Hurricane Ridge. (Beth S. & Joe, from WA, August 2020)

Great place with wonderful hosts and wonderful views. (Timothy V., from Illinois, & Chelsey, from TN, August 2020)

 

A great place to stay if you’re visiting Olympic National Park. It is close to Port Angeles downtown and less than an hour’s drive to Hurricane Ridge. Our room was cozy with a spacious bathroom and the view from our windows was stunning. Mary Kaye did a great job at contact less check in. Highly recommended! (Anna S. & Faiz, from WA, August 2020)

 

We had an amazing stay at Red Dog Inn! Everything was so clean, organized and Mary Kaye was so quick to respond with everything. Gorgeous location and amazing detail put into the place. I would highly recommend to anyone!” (Sabrina K. & Oleg, from CA, August 2020)

 

Red Dog Inn is a gem!!! We had a wonderful stay. Mary Kaye was so communicative and kind. Truly exceptional hospitality! Little touches like a gift basket of goodies and seltzers in the fridge made us feel welcomed. Lots of thought was put into making each guest stay’s special. COVID safe- Mary Kaye was very careful regarding social distancing and sanitation. Hand sanitizer and rules for a safe stay were provided. Definitely listen to her instructions on how to get there (which she details very carefully in the welcome letter). Very easy to follow them, but we tried with Apple maps originally and the directions were wrong as Mary Kaye had noted. Highly recommended!!!!” (Mike & Erin H., from CA, August 2020)

Thank you again for hosting us- it was such a lovely stay and we both appreciated all the personal touches. Hope to come back to Red Dog Inn again! (Erin H. & Mike, from CA, August 2020)

 

The Red Dog Inn was a fabulous stay! It was a great location for all the parts I wanted to see in Olympic National Park. It's not far from Port Angeles and very close to Lake Crescent. Mary Kaye was an amazing host, and when I told her two weeks before my stay that my friend was coming along on my trip, she was fine with it. Our room was spotless with coffee, sugar, a mini fridge, plates and utensils and a toaster there for our convenience. With COVID currently, Mary Kaye ensured that cleanliness was a priority for her and it showed in little details like the tv remote in a plastic bag and cleaning all high touch places. ONP means a lot to me and I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm back! Can't recommend this place enough.  (Danielle M., PA, July 2020).

Thank you so much for letting us stay there! It was incredibly peaceful and the view from the room is outstanding. You have a very beautiful home and property! I can't wait to come back to experience the B and B fully after Covid!  (Danielle M., from PA, July 2020).

 

Our stay was perfect. First of all, the house is in the middle of the forest which is gorgeous, it’s so quiet and the rooms were absolutely clean. Everything was made for guests, you feel welcome at the minute you enter the house. Also, we were there during the pandemic and I felt really safe there, all the precautions were taken, and I think that this is really nice to continue welcoming guests but really doing all these efforts to protect everyone. I would have liked to stay longer! On the way to exit the house we saw a deer and its baby, you can’t get closer to nature than there. (Clotilde F. & Roman, from WA via France, July 2020)

Thanks again for this stay! We had a great time and felt safe. Everything was perfect! (Clotilde F., fromWA via France, July 2020)

If you are looking for an up to date facility with an amazing mountain view and restful surroundings for a great value then this is your place! MaryKaye was easy to communicate with and provided clear instructions for check-in and what to do to meet the distancing restrictions in place due to the COVID issue. We stayed in The Suite with its kitchenette, lovely soaking tub and sitting area. We were looking for someplace to stay and not have to leave for anything and this location fit the bill. Restful, beautiful, and clean. Definitely someplace I would recommend to others and want to visit again. (Ruth & John P., from WA, August 2020)

Thank you so much for providing the individual servings of food. I appreciate your efforts in meeting the distancing requirements due to COVID. I also appreciate the extra gift of the bottle of wine and the Happy Anniversary note. Your Inn is beautiful and completely fulfilled our desires for a relaxing getaway. (Ruth P., from WA, August 2020)

 

Lovely view, easy to get to, friendly host, comfortable spaces.  Everything was comfortable and wonderful. thanks! (Jennifer M., from WA, January 2020) 

 

This is the 2nd time we stayed here. This time we stayed in the 'honeymoon' room, a large room, great view (they all have great views of snow covered Baldy Ridge). Large room, lovely cushy comfortable sofa with an excellent reading light. Soaking tub much appreciated after a hard day on the trail. Mary Kaye has gone out of her way with thoughtful touches and hospitality.  (Jennifer M. & Barry from WA, February 2020)

My family had a fantastic stay at Red Dog Inn! Beautiful rooms and views, so warm and cozy on a cold winter night! Mary Kaye and Don thought of every detail, soft flannel sheets, lotions, extra everything, fresh popcorn, tons of amazing snacks in both the rooms and the guest lounge! We had a great breakfast, too! We wish we could have stayed longer! (Cathy & Allan from WA, and Brittany from CO, February 2020)

 

A beautiful site to chill out. Beautiful home with amazing kitchen and views. A must place to stay. (Joan K., Alabama, January 2020)

 

The house.. what can we say... this is the place to stay for peace and quiet. The windows throughout the home offer views of the Olympics and the vast property. We saw a beautiful family of deer crossing the lawn one morning! The rooms are very spacious and welcoming. The beds will offer a wonderful night's sleep. Bathrooms are well appointed and everything looked in new condition!  Red Dog checks all the boxes for a peaceful stay in Washington.  (Josh & Stephanie from WA, July 2019)

 

Great getaway in a very secluded, peaceful environment. Large, clean rooms with private bathrooms and all the amenities you need. There's also an awesome view room on the top floor with telescope. This place is perfect for short or long term stays. (Jennifer & Family from WA, July 2019)

 

I spent a week in this beautiful B&B nestled into the PNW. Every morning I awoke with a beautiful view as I enjoyed my coffee outside on the front steps or the balcony on the guest floor. The private lake and picnic area was serene as my children played in nature instead of on electronics. It was a great way to disconnect from everyday monotony of facebook, twitter, and other social media outlets. Breakfast every morning was a wonderful way to start every day that was filled with something to do. Close enough to Port Angeles to spend time shopping, and plenty of educational things to immerse yourself in. The nature that surrounded us left my children and I with a feeling of peace and calmness (as best it can with a 7 and 2 year old). I look forward to many more stays out there. (Sara & Family from TX, July 2019)

bottom of page